2021 Gridlock Alert Days

Thursday, September 16, 2021

Source: NYC Department of Transportation (DOT)


Select days in September, November and December are designated Gridlock Alert Days, as traffic volumes increase with the UN General Assembly*, holiday shopping and travel, as well as special event street closures. 

Monday, September 20, 2021*
Tuesday, September 21, 2021*
Wednesday, September 22, 2021*
Thursday, September 23, 2021*
Friday, September 24, 2021*
Monday, September 27, 2021*
Thursday, November 18, 2021
Friday, November 19, 2021
Tuesday, November 23, 2021
Wednesday, November 24, 2021
Wednesday, December 1, 2021
Thursday, December 2, 2021
Friday, December 3, 2021
Wednesday, December 8, 2021
Thursday, December 9, 2021
Wednesday, December 15, 2021
Thursday, December 16, 2021
Friday, December 17, 2021
Wednesday, December 22, 2021

For street closures visit the NYPD Traffic Advisories www1.nyc.gov/site/nypd/news/news.page?category=Traffic%20Advisories

Learn more at www1.nyc.gov/html/dot/html/motorist/gridlockalert.shtml

*UN General Assembly information

STREET CLOSURES 

Monday, September 20--Tuesday, September 28, from 6am to 9pm.
Upper level of 1st Ave from 42nd St to 48th St (Vehicular and bicycle traffic will travel through the 1st Ave tunnel)
Most side streets from 42nd St to 47th St between 1st and 2nd Aves

PEDESTRIAN CHECKPOINTS (approximately 7am--9pm)

2nd Avenue: 42nd St, 44th St, 45th St, and 46th St.
1st Avenue: 42nd St, 46th St, and 49th St.

FROZEN ZONES

Frozen zones will occur at times, stopping all vehicular, pedestrian, and bicycle traffic. These freezes should be short-lived but could last up to 30 or 40 minutes.

BICYCLES

Bike lanes will be maintained along 1st and 2nd Avenues. A special lane will travel through the tunnel on 1st Avenue.

Citi Bike stations will be closed in the secure zone from 42nd St to 47th St, between 1st and 2nd Avenues.

OUTDOOR DINING RESTRICTIONS

Outdoor dining will be closed along 2nd Avenue from 42nd Street to 57th Street, along with select side streets from 6am--9pm.

SANITATION COLLECTION

Sanitation collection will occur overnight. Residents and businesses from 42nd Street to 47th Street between 1st and 2nd Avenues should put their garbage on the curb after 9pm. Residents may hear some extra noise overnight.

MTA

Bus service will be operational but subject to extensive delays on all routes traveling through Midtown. Subway service will not be affected. Travel by subway is recommended to avoid the disruptions aboveground. (Note: frozen zones may temporarily limit access to some entrances of the 51st Street 6 station and the Lexington Ave-53 St E/M station).

FERRY

Ferry service in portions of the East River will be subject to various delays and suspensions during the UN General Assembly. Your carrier will provide additional details.
 

RELATED DOCUMENTS

UN General Assembly Street Closure Map
UN General Assembly Street Closures Flyer

 

Join The Murray Hill Neighborhood Association

Be involved in the preservation, beautification and improvement of this very special neighborhood, and receive discounts at some of the finest Murray Hill restaurants and merchants.


Join Today