Gridlock Alert Days 2018 - for UNGA and Holidays

Tuesday, September 18, 2018

Source: NYC Department of Transportation

New UNGA Gridlock Alert Days

Increased traffic volume and United Nations General Assembly related street closures have a profound effect on the movement of vehicles in Midtown. As a result, weekdays from September 24 - October 1, 2018 are newly designated Gridlock Alert Days. DOT’s Traffic Operations Division analysis revealed that the week of the UN General Debate includes the most significant driving delays. Drivers can expect Midtown travel times up to three times longer than what is typical for that day of week. Learn more at nyc.gov/gridlockalert.

Monday, September 24
Tuesday, September 25
Wednesday, September 26
Thursday, September 27
Friday, September 28
Saturday, September 29
Sunday, September 30
Monday, October 1

Holiday Gridlock Alert Days

Select days in November and December are designated Gridlock Alert Days, as traffic volumes increase with holiday shopping and travel, as well as special event street closures. Drivers can expect that travel through Midtown will take twice as long as a typical day of week.

Friday, November 16
Wednesday, November 21
Wednesday, November 28
Friday, December 7
Wednesday-Friday, December 12-14
Wednesday-Friday, December 19-21

RELATED DOCUMENTS

Flier of UNGA street closures 2018
Map of UNGA street closures and check points 2018

RELATED SITES

DOT Gridlock Alert Days 2018

 

Join The Murray Hill Neighborhood Association

Be involved in the preservation, beautification and improvement of this very special neighborhood, and receive discounts at some of the finest Murray Hill restaurants and merchants.


Join Today