How will the proposed redistricting affect Murray Hill/Kips Bay district lines?

Friday, January 7, 2022

By: Nancy Idaka Sheran

The New York State Independent Redistricting Commission released their proposed new district maps on January 3, 2022. These maps may determine the new district lines for Murray Hill’s Congressional, State Senate, and State Assembly Districts. The Commission, evenly split between Democratic and Republican delegates, could not agree on one set of maps, and, as a result, two sets of partisan maps were submitted (A=Democrat, B=Republican). The State Legislature will decide which maps to use. It can approve one set of maps by a two-thirds majority, it can reject both sets of maps and send them back, or it can rewrite the maps.

A general observation is that the district boundaries for the proposed new maps are smoother and the districts are more compact for the districts affecting Murray Hill/Kips Bay. The maps currently in use have the appearance of gerrymandering. Gerrymandering is when electoral district boundaries are manipulated in order to give advantage to a party, group or socio-economic class. The origin of the word “gerrymander” goes back to 1812, when a politician, Elbridge Gerry, created a district that looked like a salamander. One significant change for State Senate and Assembly maps (both the A and B versions) is that some districts that formerly represented only Manhattan neighborhoods now represent neighborhoods in both Manhattan and Brooklyn.

The proposed map (both the A and B versions) for Congressional District 12 (incumbent Rep. Carolyn Maloney) keeps all parts of Murray Hill/Kips Bay together in one district; the district includes neighborhoods in Manhattan and Brooklyn. This was also the case for the existing Congressional map for District 12, although the borders are drawn differently. 

The current maps for Murray Hill/Kips Bay State Senate Districts 27 (incumbent Brad Hoylman) 28 (incumbent Liz Krueger) include only Manhattan neighborhoods and have highly irregular shapes. The current map of State Senate District 29 (incumbent Jose Serrano) includes Roosevelt Island, parts of the upper East Side north of Yorkville, parts of the upper West Side south of 110th Street, Randall’s Island and parts of the Bronx. The proposed State Senate maps for Murray Hill/Kips significantly alter the boundaries of Senate Districts 27, 28 and 29 to smooth out the borders and make the districts more compact. The boundaries for the proposed Senate District 27 will be Manhattan neighborhoods south of Grammercy (in both plan A and B), District 29 will encompass much of the current District 28. The proposed District 28 includes mostly Brooklyn neighborhoods, with a small section of Manhattan including Tudor City, Murray Hill, Kips Bay and Gramercy. 

The proposed new mapping for Murray Hill/Kips Bay State Assembly districts includes District 73 (Dan Quart) and 74 (Harvey Epstein), and also introduces District 37 (on Plan A) and District 23 (on Plan B), which include both Manhattan and Brooklyn neighborhoods. Current District maps for Murray Hill/Kips Bay Assembly districts include only Districts 73 and 74 and represent only Manhattan neighborhoods.

One question regarding the proposed State Senate and State Assembly maps is whether Murray Hill/Kips Bay voters, whose votes will be combined with those of voters from Brooklyn neighborhoods, will find their representation diminished under the new District maps. 

Update January 29, 2022. The Independent Redistricting Commission could not produce one set of maps by January 25, the deadline. The mapping of the district lines now goes to the Democratically controlled New York State Legislature. The Legislature has promised to move quickly, as upcoming primary elections will soon be upon us, and potential challengers in the primaries need to know district lines in order to collect signatures for their petitions to appear on the ballots. New York State loses one seat in this redistricting process due to population growth that was not as much as other states. It is most likely that the seat that is lost will be upstate. 

View the redistricting maps voted on by the Independent Redistricting Commission

Existing Congressional District 12

Plan A Congressional District 12

Plan B Congressional District 12 

Existing State Senate Districts 27, 28

Plan A Senate Districts 27, 28, 29 

Plan B Senate Districts 27, 28, 29 

Existing Assembly Districts 73, 74 

Assembly District 73

Assembly District 74

Plan A Assembly Districts 73, 74

Plan B Assembly Districts 73, 74

See the maps

Existing Congressional District 12 (incumbent Rep. Carolyn Maloney)
District 12 Plan A (Democrat)

District 12 Plan B (Republican)

Existing State Senate District 27 (incumbent Brad Hoylman)
Existing State Senate District 28 (incumbent State Senator Liz Krueger)
Existing State Senate District 29 (incumbent Jose Serrano)
Plan A (Democrat)
Plan B (Republican)
Existing Assembly District 73 (incumbent Assembly Member Dan Quart)
Existing Assembly District 74 (incumbent Assembly Member Harvey Epstein)
Plan A (Democrat)
Plan B (Republican)