Every day, decisions are being made to edit, alter, and reformat the films we love. Not by the films' creators, but by the copyright holders who distribute the films.

The Artists Rights Education and Legal Defense Fund Council was established by The Film Foundation Board of Directors to advocate for the protection and expansion of artists' rights. Governors include Tom Cruise, Harrison Ford, Milos Forman, Taylor Hackford, Dustin Hoffman, Anjelica Huston, Bruce Ramer, Elliot Silverstein (chair), and Ken Ziffren.

The annual John Huston Award for Artists Rights is given to individuals who are dedicated to protecting the work of film artists from alteration and to ensuring that the artists' visions remain intact for future generations to enjoy.

Article 6bis of the Berne Treaty, an international agreement governing copyright and Artists Rights issues, states:

"Independent of the author's economic rights, and even after the transfer of the said rights, the author shall have the right to claim authorship of the work and to object to any distortion, mutilation or other modification of, or other derogatory action in relation to, the said work, which would be prejudicial to his or her honor or reputation."

John Huston on Artists Rights